Palestinian Ancestry

My poem “Palestinian Ancestry”

 

“Palestinian Ancestry”

 

You question my ancestry,

and believe in blood purity,

yet pure-bloods are not a rarity,

they do not exist.

 

I am a Canaanite,

I am a Jebusite,

an Amorite,

and an Edomite.

 

I am Philistinian,

I am Nabataean,

an Ancient Hebrew,

and an Aramean.

 

I am Greek,

and maybe Roman.

 

I am Arab,

and a Kurd,

a European crusader,

and an Ottoman Turk.

 

My ancestors listed are but a few,

they were pagans, Christians, Muslims and Jews,

yet you believe in blood purity,

for my blood is “impure”.

your blood, too, is “impure”.

your disease of racism requires a cure.

Leave a Reply

