With or Without

 

A poem dedicated to women (womyn) worldwide who experience body policing, regardless what they choose to wear.

“With or Without”

I refuse
to conform
to your
expectations

the hijab
is neither
oppression
nor liberation

philosophies
are
reduced to
wardrobes
as
a distraction

to distract
us from
the blood
we shed daily;
the blood
of the earth
and that
of our ancestors

what I wear
will not
pollute all
it touches

what
I wear
is not the
cause of
extermination
of nations

what
I wear
is not the
cause of
starvation

what
I wear
will never
be a
society’s salvation

and yet
all we can
argue is
what a woman
wears
not for
the sake
of the woman
but for
the sake
of supremacy
and misogyny

women’s bodies
reduced
to rubbish laws
and
political debates

my body is
not your
battlefield
to wage
your fears

I am not
merely
a topic
a debate
a piece of flesh
to veil or unveil

I exist
with
or without
the hijab
for I am
superior
to your
allegations

Leave a Reply

